web analytics

‘One Second After’ – MGO Book Club – November 2015

Did everyone have a good Halloween? Yes? No? Ok, well, it’s already November now, so don’t worry about it. Instead, it’s time to delve into a new book!

There are two holidays that are important this month, that being Veterans Day and Thanksgiving. I struggled to find the right book, and then it dawned on me. ‘One Second After’ is a perfect pick for November, as it’s about a military veteran. In addition, reading it will make you a little more thankful for everything you have, especially all the little things that are overlooked everyday.

Click image to go to Amazon page.

Here’s the synopsis from Amazon:

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future…and our end.

I read this book a few years ago, and I still talk about it with people and tell them they need to read it. Mr. Forstchen’s attention to detail will have you consciously thinking about all the things we take for granted every day. You won’t regret reading it.

You can find this book on Amazon, or at your local library or bookstore. If you’ve already read it, its sequel ‘One Year After’ is also available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.